AGM 18th May 2024

The AGM took place as planned: members present at Llanuwchllyn were able to enjoy a buffet lunch and an evening ‘mixed’ train with Winifred taking the Penrhyn Quarrymen’s Coaches and slate wagons to Llangower for an ‘interesting’ reversal.

The full draft minutes are available from the Secretary (email to or – if I’ve set it up right! – by logging into the Members’ Area (you will then see a link on the right of the screen, under ‘Recent Posts’).

Here is a summary:

All the candidates who stood for election were successful.

Dave Fildes (Treasurer, until May 2025)
Rob Houghton (Committee Member, up to May 2027)
Chris Jackson (Vice-President, up to May 2027)
Mat Peacock (Secretary, up to May 2027)
Francis Stapleton (Heritage Advisor, up to May 2027)
Bob ‘Shell’ Greenhalgh (Vice-President, up to May 2027)

The Meeting mainly focussed on ways to increase member recruitment, member participation and the Society’s presence at the Railway. Increasing the number of volunteers we have for the Society Stall, which is a proven way of recruiting new members and collecting donations, is a particularly urgent matter and any offers will be greatly appreciated.

Upcoming Society Projects include a major contribution to a planned Disabled Toilet at Llanuwchllyn, several publications and other items of merchandise, a Memorials area for Society Members and other Railway supporters and, on behalf of the Company which provides the financial backing, the Bala Model Show (Saturday September 21st and Sunday September 22nd 2024). We have a reasonable number of volunteers to help on those two dates but could really do with several more to assist with the setting up of the Show on the Friday evening beforehand.

Please contact Mat, the Society Secretary, for more information:

Mat P

Society Secretary